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Summary

One of CPS’ most critical
responsibilities is
determining whether it is
necessary to protect a
child by temporarily
removing the child from
his/her caregiver's
custody. State law allows
CPS to remove a child
from his/her home under
certain conditions, such
as when a child is a victim
or will imminently become
a victim of abuse or
neglect. When CPS takes
temporary custody of a
child, it must provide
immediate notification to
the child's caregiver, and
must file a dependency
petition with the Juvenile
Court, or return the child,
within 72 hours. The
decision to remove a child
from his/her home and
place the child in the
State's temporary custody
is subject to reviews
involving various entities.
When a dependency
petition is filed, a juvenile
court judge makes the
ultimate decision on
whether the child remains
in the State's custody or is
returned to his/her home.
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Child Removal Process

One of Child Protective Services’' (CPS)
most critical responsibilities is determin-
ing whether it is necessary to protect chil-
dren by temporarily removing them from
their caregivers' custody. According to the
Department's Child Welfare Reporting
Requirements Semi-Annual Report,
between April 2006 and March 2007, CPS
staff were assigned to investigate 33,041
reports alleging child abuse, neglect, or
abandonment. Nearly 12 percent (3,778)
of those reports resulted in the removal of
at least one child.

State law allows CPS to remove children
from their homes under certain condi-
tions—Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.)
§8-821 allows CPS to take a child into
temporary custody when there is proba-
ble cause to believe the child:

* |s a victim or will imminently become a vic-
tim of abuse or neglect;

* |s suffering serious physical or emotional
injury that can only be diagnosed by a doc-
tor or psychologist; or

* |s physically injured as a result of living on
premises where dangerous drugs are man-
ufactured.

Arizona Administrative Code (Code)
describes situations indicating imminent
harm that require CPS intervention (see
textbox). In situations not specifically list-
ed in the Code, the CPS specialist will
determine risk of imminent harm and
need for removal by 1) conducting a fam-
ily assessment to identify strength and
risk factors; and 2) evaluating all facts
and circumstances surrounding the child
and family situation, including whether
there has been a pattern of maltreatment,
particularly of increasing severity, and the

availability of a parent or other adult in the
household who is willing and able to pro-
tect the child.

Before removing a child from the home
without the consent of his/her caregiver,
CPS must first consider alternative
actions. These alternative actions may

Situations Indicating Imminent Harm

« No caregiver is present and the child
cannot care for himself/herself or other
children in the home.

« Child has severe or serious non-acci-
dental injuries requiring immediate
medical treatment.

« Child has a medical condition requiring
immediate medical treatment or a con-
dition likely to result in impairment or
disfigurement and caregiver is unwilling
or unable to obtain medical treatment.

« Child is at risk of death or permanent
physical impairment due to nutritional
deprivation.

« Doctor or psychologist has determined
caregiver is unable or unwilling to pro-
vide minimally adequate care.

 Physical or mental condition of caregiv-
er endangers the child.

« Home environment endangers the
child.

« Doctor or psychologist has determined
the child's caregiver has emaotionally
damaged the child, the child exhibits
signs of emotional damage, and the
caregiver is unwilling or unable to seek
treatment for the child.

» CPS specialist has probable cause to
believe caregiver has engaged in sexu-
al conduct with the child.

Source: Arizona Administrative Code R6-5-5512(B).
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only be used if they will eliminate the risk of immi-
nent harm to the child and can include:

« Assisting the family in obtaining resources such as
emergency food, shelter, clothing, or utilities, so that
the child can remain safely at home.

« Entering into an agreement with the child's caregiver
requiring the alleged abuser to leave the home and
for the remaining family members to protect the child.

« |dentifying a relative or friend who can temporarily
care for the child without court intervention.

« Helping the protective caregiver and child leave the
home of the alleged child abuser.

« Placing the child in voluntary foster care.’

State law requires CPS to notify caregivers when it
takes custody of their children—A.R.S. §8-823
requires that when CPS takes a child into tempo-
rary custody and the caregiver is present, CPS
must provide immediate verbal and written notifi-
cation to the caregiver. If the child's caregiver is
not present at the time of removal, CPS must pro-
vide the caregiver with written notification within 6
hours if he/she lives in Arizona or within 24 hours if
out-of-state, unless the location of the caregiver
cannot be determined. If a caregiver is not readily
located, CPS staff are required to conduct an
extensive, documented search to find him/her.

The CPS specialist notifies the caregiver by provid-
ing him/her with a Temporary Custody Notice form
that includes information on the reason for
removal and the circumstances that placed the
child at imminent risk of harm. The Notice explains
that the child must be returned to his/her home
within 72 hours (not including weekends and holi-
days) unless CPS files a dependency petition with
the Juvenile Court or that the child be returned
home within 12 hours if he/she was removed to be
examined by a medical doctor or psychologist,
unless abuse or neglect is diagnosed.2 The Notice
also includes the steps that will occur if a depend-
ency petition is filed, caregivers' rights and respon-
sibilities, available services for the family, and
agencies to contact for assistance. Along with the
notice, CPS provides the caregiver with a pam-
phlet titled Guide to Child Protective Services, con-
taining additional information on CPS and the
removal process. Caregivers and others may also
obtain information and assistance about CPS and

the child removal process from various other
sources, such as the Arizona Supreme Court (see
textbox on page 3).

In some cases, such as when there is an immedi-
ate need for a medical or psychological examina-
tion, immediate threat of harm to the child, or
when the identity or whereabouts of the caregiver
is unknown, the child may be removed without the
caregiver's knowledge. If a child is removed from a
setting other than the home, a Notice of Removal
form is given to an appropriate person at the
place of removal.

Various entities are involved in reviewing the deci-
sion o remove a child—The decision to remove a
child from his/her home and place the child in the
temporary custody of the State is subject to vari-
ous reviews through the following entities (see
flowchart on page 4):

« Removal Review Team—In 1990, the Legislature
added A.R.S. §8-546.08, which requires a
mandatory review before a dependency petition
is filed with the Juvenile Court.3 The purpose of
the review is to assess whether there are options
other than continued out-of-home placement.
The review is conducted by a removal review
team which, by law, must include a CPS special-
ist, a CPS unit supervisor, two members of the
local Foster Care Review Board, and a physician
or registered nurse practitioner if the child has a
medical need or chronic illness.4 The dependen-
cy petition must be filed within 72 hours of the
child's removal or the child must be returned
home.

In Maricopa and Pima Counties, Team Decision-
Making (TDM) has been incorporated into the
removal review process. A TDM meeting is a
collaborative process, separate from the
removal review team, involving the family, sup-
ports such as relatives and friends, CPS, and
staff from partnering agencies such as behav-
ioral health providers. Issues discussed during
the meeting include what brought the child to
the attention of CPS, risk and safety concerns,
strengths of the family and child, and possible
placement options. The results of the TDM
meeting are taken into consideration by the
removal review team. According to division per-
sonnel, TDM is in the process of being imple-
mented state-wide.

1 Voluntary foster care is used when, within a 90-day period, the Division can provide the services likely to remedy the circumstances that
brought the child into care and 1) the Division plans to return the child to the caregiver who signed the child into voluntary placement; or
2) while the child is in voluntary placement, the caregiver arranges a safe alternative placement for the child.

3 Renumbered as A.R.S. §8-822 in 1997.

A dependency petition asks the court to award temporary custody of the child to the State.

Foster Care Review Boards assist the Juvenile Courts by reviewing the CPS cases of children who have been placed in out-of-home care.

These boards are composed of court-appointed volunteers and there is at least one board in each county.



« Family Advocacy Office—Caregivers can also
request an administrative review by the
Department's Family Advocacy Office.
According to division management, the request
must be made before a dependency petition is
filed, or it cannot be honored. In reviewing a
child removal, the Division assigns a family
advocacy specialist, who is not part of the CPS
program, to examine whether imminent harm
existed during the removal, whether options
other than removal were considered, and
whether continued out-of-home placement is
needed. The specialist participates in the
removal review team meeting. According to divi-
sion personnel, there were 136 requests for
reviews by family advocacy specialists in state
fiscal year 2007.

« Juvenile Court—Once a dependency petition is
filed, the Juvenile Court holds various reviews,
conferences, and hearings that will ultimately
result in a judge deciding whether or not to
order the child dependent and place him/her in
the custody of the State.

Initially, a juvenile court judge immediately
reviews the petition and may issue a temporary
order to return the child to the home if he/she
determines that the child will be safe there.l If
the judge determines that continued out-of-

home placement is necessary, a preliminary pro-

tective hearing is held within 5 to 7 days of the
child's removal to determine whether temporary
custody is clearly necessary to prevent abuse or
neglect. At this hearing, the judge takes into
account the results of a prior meeting attended
by the caregiver; CPS specialist; attorneys for
the caregiver, CPS, and the child; and other
interested parties, in deciding the child's place-
ment, services to be provided, and child visita-
tion. The Juvenile Court also determines if rea-
sonable efforts were made to prevent or
eliminate the need for the removal, and if servic-
es are available to eliminate the need for contin-
ued removal.

If the caregiver fails to appear at the preliminary
protective hearing, it still takes place, but failure
to appear requires that another hearing called
the initial dependency hearing be set within 21
days of the filing of the dependency petition. In
the initial dependency hearing, the judge can
declare the child dependent if the caregiver
agrees to or does not contest the allegations.

If at the preliminary protective hearing the care-
giver disagrees with CPS regarding the need for
temporary custody, the Juvenile Court holds a
review of temporary custody. This review

Information and Assistance Resources

Arizona Department of Economic Security

Web site

www.azdes.gov/dcyf/cmdps/cps/guide.asp

« This site provides answers to "Frequently Asked
Questions" regarding CPS and the child removal
process, including how to obtain a lawyer, visita-
tion, and available services.

Arizona Department of Economic Security,

Family Advocacy Office

(877) 527-0765

« Upon timely request by a caregiver, this Office
reviews the removal of a child by CPS before a
dependency petition is filed. It also addresses
inquiries, concerns, and grievances about CPS.

Arizona Supreme Court Web site

www.supreme.state.az.us

« Available through this site are documents titled A
Handbook for Parents and Guardians in
Dependency Cases and Getting from Here to
There: A Guide to the Dependency Court for
Children and Youth in Foster Care.

Arizona Supreme Court, Parent Assistance

Hotline

(800) 732-8193

« This toll-free hotline assists parents with ques-
tions and concerns about CPS and provides
information about legal assistance, the juvenile
court system, and parents' legal rights and
responsibilities.

Arizona Ombudsman-Citizens’ Aide

Phoenix: (602) 277-7292

Toll-Free: (800) 872-2879

« This Office addresses questions, concerns, and
complaints about state agencies' actions.

includes evidence presented by CPS and the
caregiver. The review is part of the preliminary
protective hearing and is generally conducted
on the same day. If an agreement is still not
reached, a mediation or settlement conference
is scheduled, in which a mediator, the caregiver,
a CPS specialist, and the child's attorney try to
come to an agreement regarding custody. If the
case is not settled, the caregiver has the right to
an adjudication hearing.

During the adjudication hearing, the judge deter-
mines whether sufficient evidence exists to sup-
port that the allegations in the petition are true. If
the judge finds the allegations to be true, he/she
will declare the child dependent. If the caregiver

T A judge may dismiss the petition and return the child home, or agree with the petition and determine placement, services, and child
visitation at any hearing subsequent to the filing of the petition. More than one of the various hearings related to a case may be held on
the same day, so that issues are settled as soon as possible, for the good of the child.
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does not appear at this hearing, or conferences
held prior to this hearing, the judge may deter-
mine that the caregiver has admitted to the alle-

the judge declares the child dependent, the
Court holds various hearings to establish and
review the specifics of child placement, service

gations and may declare the child dependent. If provision, and a case plan goal of family reunifi-
cation or alternate permanent placement.

Child removal process begins when CPS removes child from

home. Probable cause exists that child is victim, or will imminently

become victim, of abuse or neglect.
CPS intends to file dependency petition.

Y

Removal review team meets prior to filing dependency petition
to assess need for continued out-of-home placement.

Y

Removal review team finds continued out-of-home placement is
appropriate. Dependency petition is filed.

Y

Judge immediately reviews dependency petition and
issues temporary orders needed to provide for the
safety and welfare of the child.

At preliminary protective hearing, judge considers results of
conference between CPS, caregiver, and attorneys in deciding
placement, services, and child visitation. Caregiver disagrees with
need for temporary custody. Review of temporary custody is held.

{

At review of temporary custody, caregiver and GPS present
gvidence to judge that continued temporary custody
is or is not necessary. Agreement is not reached.
Mediation or settlement conference is scheduled.

Y

At mediation or settlement conference, stakeholders attempt to
settle dependency issues. Agreement is not reached.
Adjudication hearing is scheduled.

Y

At adjudication hearing, judge determines if sufficient evidence
exists to support allegations. Evidence is sufficient.
Judge declares child dependent.

Y

Court holds various hearings to establish and review child
placement, services, and case plan.

Office of the Auditor General

(602) 553-0333

www.azauditor.gov

Contact person: Catherine Dahlquist

page 4

Upon caregiver request, family
advocacy specialist reviews removal
and participates in meeting.

If removal team determines child will
be safe at home, child is returned.

If judge determines child will be safe
at home, child is returned.

If caregiver is not present at
preliminary protective hearing, initial
dependency hearing is held.

If caregiver agrees with, or does not
contest allegations,
judge can declare child dependent.

If agreement is reached, judge
determines placement, services,
and child visitation.

If agreement is reached, judge
determines placement, services,
and child visitation.

If evidence is insufficient, child is
returned home.
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