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August 2, 2007

Members of the Arizona Legislature
The Honorable Janet Napolitano, Governor

Ms. Tracy Wareing, Director
Arizona Department of Economic Security

Transmitted herewith is a report of the Auditor General, a Questions-and-Answers
document on the Department of Economic Security, Division of Children, Youth and
Families, Child Protective Services—Child Abuse Hotline. The document was prepared
pursuant to and under the authority vested in the Auditor General by Arizona Revised
Statutes §41-1966.

Our questions-and-answers documents were created to provide answers to multiple
questions on a particular subject area. We hope that these questions-and-answers
documents will fill a need and provide you with timely and useful information on topics of
particular interest.

My staff and | will be pleased to discuss or clarify items in this document.

This document will be released to the public on August 3, 2007.

Sincerely,

Debbie Davenport
Auditor General
Enclosure
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Summary

This document answers
questions about
Arizona's state-wide toll-
free Child Abuse Hotline
for receiving calls
concerning suspected
child abuse and neglect.
Trained hotline staff
classify and prioritize
calls to determine
whether an investigation
is needed and if so, how
quickly CPS must
respond. Doctors,
school personnel, and
others who have
responsibility for the
care and treatment of
minors are required by
law to report suspected
child abuse and neglect.

August ¢ Report No. QA-0701

Child Abuse Hotline

Question 1: What is the
Child Abuse Hotline?

The Hotline is a toll-free
telephone line operated by
trained CPS staff, 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week, 365
days a year to receive
reports of suspected child
abuse and neglect.

In November 1994, the Division of
Children, Youth and Families
established a centralized intake unit
called the Child Abuse Hotline, which
uses a state-wide toll-free telephone
number (1-888-767-2445) to receive
calls of suspected child abuse and
neglect. The Hotline's toll-free
telephone number is listed on the
Department's Web site and in Arizona
phone directories state-wide under
“child abuse” and in the emergency
and government pages.

Hotline management provides training
to mandated reporters (see Question
3) regarding what and how to report
child abuse in Arizona. Training is
provided upon request to schools,
medical and court personnel, and
community organizations such as
domestic violence shelters, counseling
agencies, and substance abuse
treatment centers. Training is also
provided to other department divisions

Child Protective Services

and state agencies whose employees
have direct responsibility for children in
the course of their work, such as the
Division of Developmental Disabilities
and the Departments of Education and
Health Services.

When the Department receives
allegations of abuse and neglect by
other means—such as by fax or mail—
those allegations are immediately
forwarded to the Hotline for processing.
During state fiscal year 2006, the
Hotline received almost 94,700 calls
and written correspondence, which
were categorized as communications
and reports (see Question 2).

The Hotline is operated 24 hours a day,
7 days a week, 365 days a year by
hotline staff who have received safety
and risk assessment training.
According to division management,
over 76 percent of hotline staff have
prior CPS field experience. When a
person calls, hotline staff ask a number
of standardized screening questions
including: "When and where did the
incident occur?"; “Who abused the
child and were there any witnesses?";
and "Can you describe the injury
including the location, size, shape, and
color?" The Division developed the
standardized screening questions with
the assistance of other experts such as
Attorney General staff, medical
personnel, and law enforcement
officials.
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Question 2: How are reports of
suspected child abuse and neglect
categorized and prioritized?

Based on the information received
from the caller, hotline staff evaluate
and categorize each call as a
communication or a report. Reports
are then prioritized in terms of
severity so that CPS knows how
quickly it must respond.

The Division's standardized hotline screening
questions are used to gather information in order
to categorize each call as either a coommunication
or a report. Calls not meeting the criteria for a
report are categorized as a communication and
according to division management, many relate to
social service or community concerns, such as
information about a family being evicted; therefore,
no investigation is required.

Calls are categorized as reports that CPS must
investigate if:

* There is an allegation that a person under the age of
18 is the subject of physical, sexual, or emotional
abuse, neglect, abandonment, or exploitation;

* A parent, guardian, or custodian has:

* Inflicted, may inflict, permitted another person to
inflict or had reason to know another person may
inflict abuse or neglect; or

* The alleged abusive person has not been identified
and the parent, guardian, or custodian has not been
ruled out as the person who inflicted, permitted
another person to inflict or had reason to know
another person would inflict abuse or neglect; and

¢ There is sufficient information to locate the child.

During state fiscal year 2006 and the first 10 months
of fiscal year 2007, the Hotline received a monthly
average of about 7,900 calls and written
correspondence. Of those monthly calls and
correspondence, an average of about 2,900 (37
percent) were categorized as reports.

A CPS report may involve more than one allegation
as well as multiple children. Based on information
obtained, hotline staff categorize each allegation
within a report by the type of abuse (i.e., physical,
emotional, etc.) and assign a priority risk to each
allegation to determine an appropriate response
time (see below). For example, one report may
include an allegation of priority 1 physical abuse for
one child and priority 2 neglect for the same child
and a sibling for a total of 3 allegations. The
supervisor who oversees the CPS case manager
assigned to investigate the report may shorten or
lengthen the standard response times based on
aggravating and mitigating factors, such as the
child victim expressing fear of maltreatment if
returned home, or if the perpetrator has no access
to the child victim during the determined response
time. The highest-risk allegation within a report
determines how quickly CPS must begin its
investigation.

-

Summary of Child Abuse Report Priority, Risks, and Response Times

Maximum Response Times

1 Excluding weekends and holidays.

Priority 1 Priority 2 Priority 3 Priority 4
High Risk Moderate Risk Low Risk Potential Risk
Category
Aggravated N/A 24 hrs 48 hrs 72 hrst
Standard 2 hrs 48 hrs 72 hrs 7 consecutive days
Mitigated 24 hrs 72 hrs 72 hrs? N/A

Source:  The Division’s Child Abuse Hotline Procedures Manual.




A.R.S. §13-3620 mandates that certain persons

Question 3: Who are mandatory have a duty to report child abuse and neglect.

reporters of suspected child abuse Persons required by law to report child abuse and
and neglect? neglect include law enforcement personnel, school

personnel, doctors, and other healthcare

Persons having a responsibility to professionals, clergy, parents or guardians, or any
care for children, such as law other person who has responsibility for the care or
enforcement personnel, school treatment of the minor. These persons must report
personnel, doctors, and other suspected child abuse and neglect immediately to

a peace officer or CPS by telephone or in person.
" " Peace officers receiving reports are required to
ra:ql:?raezds;l"l;yv\;‘:op?g‘:z d?;glirr‘:po ; notify the Child Abuse Hotline of the reported

. allegations. A dedicated line is available for law
suspected child abuse or neglect. enforcement to contact the Hotline. Mandatory
reporters making verbal reports must also submit a
written report to CPS within 72 hours.

healthcare professionals, are known

During state fiscal year 2006 and the first 10 months
Question 4: Who uses the Hotline to of fiscal year 2007, the Hotline received about

64,000 reports of suspected child abuse and

report child abuse and neglect?
neglect, an average of about 2,900 reports each

The Hotline received an average of month. According to division data, most child abuse
nearly 2,900 reports of suspected and neglect reports are made by school personnel
child abuse and neglect each month, (22 percent), law enforcement agencies, and

most frequently from schools, law healthcare professionals (17 percent each) (see
enforcement agencies, and figure below).

healthcare professionals.

/ Sources of CPS Reports \
State Fiscal Year 2006 and the First 10 Months of State Fiscal Year 2007

All Other Sources
/5%

Government Agencies

5%

Neighbors\
6%

Anonymous
12%

Law Enforcement

17%
Relatives

16%

— Healthcare Professionals
17%

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of report data from the Division’s Children’s Information Library and Data Source
& (CHILDS) automated system for state fiscal year 2006 and the first 10 months of state fiscal year 2007. /

page 3



Contact person: Catherine Dahlquist August 2007 ¢ QA-0701

page 4



	Transmittal Letter

	Questions and Answers




