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The Office of the Auditor General has conducted a performance audit of the
Department of Health Services (Department), Division of Licensing Services
(Division)—Healthcare and Child Care Facility Licensing Fees, pursuant to an
October 5, 2006, resolution of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee. This is the first
in a series of three reports on the Department and was conducted as part of the
sunset review process prescribed in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §41-2951 et
seq. This report focuses on licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities. The
other two reports will focus on the Department’s substance abuse treatment
programs and the 12 statutory sunset factors.

As of October 1, 2008, the Department licensed 4,476 healthcare facilities (such as
hospitals, nursing homes, and assisted living centers) and 2,740 child care facilities
(child care centers and group homes). In fiscal year 2008, the Department conducted
15,110 inspections of these facilities and handled more than 3,300 complaints
against them. These regulatory activities cost about $10.9 million in General Fund
monies. Like other states, Arizona charges fees for state licensure. Most of these fees
are set or capped in statute and deposited into the General Fund, partially offsetting
regulatory costs. In fiscal year 2008, the Division collected less than $1.1 million in
licensing-fee revenue for these facilities.

Licensing fees could be modified to cover more
regulatory costs (see pages 9 through 21)

As of fiscal year 2008, the General Fund subsidized about 90 percent of the State’s
cost of regulating healthcare and child care facilities. Licensing fees, which cover the
remaining 10 percent, have remained largely unchanged since the 1970s and 1980s.
Although the Legislature authorized the Department to increase licensing fees to
generate an additional $600,000 in fee revenue in fiscal year 2009, even after this
increase, the General Fund will still subsidize about 85 percent of regulatory costs.1

Further, the regulatory workload has increased significantly—the number of licensed
facilities alone has increased by 19 percent between fiscal years 2003 and 2008—
and this increased workload will likely further increase the need for General Fund
monies.

1 The increased revenue will not increase the Department’s overall funding because the General Fund appropriation for
licensing was reduced by $600,000 for fiscal year 2009.
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Rather than paying for regulatory costs from the General Fund, some states and
some other Arizona regulatory programs set their licensing fees to cover regulatory
costs. Arizona’s licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities are considerably
lower than those in two states that have set healthcare licensing fees to fully cover
regulatory costs. For example, California and Nevada, which both charge hospitals
a licensing fee that covers the full regulatory cost, have licensing fees of $25,776 and
$8,000, respectively, for a 100-bed hospital, while Arizona’s fee for a hospital of the
same size is $2,850. In Arizona, licensing fees fully fund regulatory activities for such
professions as allopathic physicians, and within the Department itself, licensing fees
fully fund regulation of environmental laboratories and hearing and speech
professionals.

Although the Department does not have the authority to raise licensing fees for
healthcare and child care facilities, it is the logical place to start in developing a
proposal for possible fee increases. Licensing fees for these facilities are set in
statute, and therefore, the Legislature would need to approve any fee changes.
However, the Department is in the position to determine regulatory costs, and
therefore to develop a fee proposal that could reduce or eliminate the General Fund
subsidy. The Department should develop and implement a systematic approach to
regularly evaluate its licensing costs and propose new fees that would cover more, if
not all, of its costs. As part of this approach, the Department should consider factors
that affect costs, including licensed capacity, the time it takes to regulate different
types of facilities, and a facility’s compliance with requirements. The Department
should also assess the efficiency of its operations to ensure costs are as low as
possible, assess the adequacy of its information systems for measuring its costs,
and obtain input from the regulated facilities regarding proposed licensing fees.
Finally, the Department should develop a proposal for legislative consideration. After
receiving the Department’s proposal, the Legislature should consider modifying
licensing fees through revising the statutory caps, authorizing the Department to set
fees in rule, or establishing a mechanism in statute for determining fees.
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The Office of the Auditor General has conducted a performance audit of the
Department of Health Services (Department), Division of Licensing Services
(Division)—Healthcare and Child Care Facility Licensing Fees, pursuant to an
October 5, 2006, resolution of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee. This is the first
in a series of three reports on the Department and was conducted as part of the
sunset review process prescribed in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §41-2951 et
seq. This report focuses on licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities. The
other two reports will focus on the Department’s substance abuse treatment
programs and the 12 statutory sunset factors.

Department licenses healthcare and child care facilities

The Department is responsible for protecting the health and safety of Arizonans in
healthcare and child care facilities by establishing and enforcing rules for the
licensure and regulation of these facilities. The Department also contracts with the
federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Arizona Health
Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS), the State’s Medicaid program, to
regulate healthcare facilities that participate in Medicare or Medicaid programs. 

The Department performs these regulatory functions through its Division of Licensing
Services. As of October 1, 2008, the Division licensed 4,476 healthcare facilities
(such as hospitals, nursing homes, and assisted living centers) and 2,740 child care
facilities (child care centers and group homes). Regulatory activities include:

 IIssssuuiinngg  lliicceennsseess——The Division issues initial and renewal licenses to qualified
applicants. Licenses for healthcare facilities are valid for 1 year, while licenses for
child care facilities are valid for 3 years. The Division also issues 3-year licenses
to hospitals accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting organization.
Further, the Division issues provisional, change of ownership, and amended
licenses as needed. In fiscal year 2008, the Division issued 3,759 initial, renewal,
and other licenses to healthcare facilities and 717 licenses to child care facilities.
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 CCoonndduuccttiinngg  ccoommpplliiaannccee  ssuurrvveeyyss——The Division conducts on-site inspections,
called surveys, to determine if licensed facilities comply with applicable rules.
For most facilities, the Division conducts a survey for each initial or renewal
license issued to a facility. It does not generally conduct surveys for accredited
healthcare facilities, but may do so if the accreditation does not cover the entire
3-year license. If the Division finds that a facility is not in full compliance, it
prepares a statement of deficiencies report, requires the facility to develop and
implement a plan of correction, and conducts follow-up and other monitoring
surveys as needed. In addition, the Division conducts additional surveys for
changes that affect a license, such as changes in ownership or the number of
licensed beds, and conducts annual inspections of child care facilities. In fiscal
year 2008, the Division conducted approximately 4,209 initial and renewal
license surveys and 10,901 follow-up and other monitoring surveys for
healthcare and child care facilities.

 HHaannddlliinngg  ccoommppllaaiinnttss——The Division receives complaints and investigates
specific allegations of noncompliance with laws or rules against licensed
facilities. In fiscal year 2008, the Division received 2,119 complaints for
healthcare facilities and 1,182 complaints for child care facilities.

 EEnnffoorrcciinngg  ccoommpplliiaannccee——The Department takes enforcement actions against
facilities that are in noncompliance with applicable rules. Most enforcement
actions are civil penalty agreements, but other actions can include denying a
license application, suspending or revoking a license or certificate, and
obtaining a court-ordered injunction that prohibits a facility from continuing a
specific act that violates rules. In fiscal year 2008, the Division imposed 349 civil
penalty agreements and collected $512,565 in penalties against healthcare and
child care facilities, which are deposited in the General Fund. It also denied
seven license applications.

 EEdduuccaattiinngg  ccoonnssuummeerrss——The Division provides the public with information on its
Web site regarding licensed facilities, survey results, enforcement actions, and
how to select appropriate care facilities.

In addition to regulating healthcare and child care facilities, the Division also licenses
hearing aid dispensers, audiologists, speech and language pathologists, nonnurse
midwives, and group homes for people with developmental disabilities. As of
October 1, 2008, the Division licensed 3,310 individual professionals and 975  group
homes for people with developmental disabilities. The Division also reviews
architectural plans for construction projects related to licensed facilities and provides
technical assistance. As shown in Table 1 (see page 3), the Division carries out its
various duties through six licensing programs.

State of Arizona
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team leader, to determine
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rules.



Licensing fees

Like other states, Arizona charges fees for state licensure.1 Most of these fees are set
or capped in statute and deposited into the General Fund, partially offsetting the cost
of licensure. Fees for licensing hearing and speech professionals, however, are set
in administrative rule, deposited into the Hearing and Speech Professionals Fund,
and cover the cost of licensing these individuals. Licensed facilities and individuals

Most license fees are
set or capped in statute.

1 The Department does not charge fees for licensing group homes for people with developmental disabilities.
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Licensing Program Description 
Number of 
Licensees1 

   

Healthcare Facility Programs 
Assisted living licensing Licenses assisted living homes and 

centers, adult foster care homes, and 
adult day healthcare facilities. 1,930 

Long-term care licensing Licenses nursing care institutions and 
Intermediate Care Facilities for the 
Mentally Retarded (ICFs/MR). 150 

Medical facilities licensing Licenses medical facilities, including 
hospitals, home health agencies, 
hospices, and ambulatory surgical 
and outpatient treatment centers. 

1,577 
Behavioral health licensing Licenses behavioral health facilities, 

including inpatient, residential, and 
outpatient facilities, and adult 
therapeutic homes. 819 

   

Child Care Facility Licensing Program 
Child care licensing Licenses and certifies child care 

centers and group homes. 2,740 
   

Other Licensing Programs 
Special licensing Licenses hearing aid dispensers, 

audiologists, speech and language 
pathologists, nonnurse midwives, and 
group homes for people with 
developmental disabilities. Also 
performs other licensing-related 
duties such as architectural reviews 
of healthcare and child care facilities. 4,285 

 
 

Table 1: Licensing Programs, Descriptions, and Number of Licensees
As of October 1, 2008

1 The numbers include only licensees with active licenses.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of licensing information from the Division’s Web site, the Arizona
Department of Health Services 2006-2007 Annual Report, and data on the number of licensees
provided by division staff.



pay the applicable fee(s) each time they submit an application for an initial or renewal
license. As shown in Table 2 (see page 5), fees for healthcare facilities vary based on
licensed bed capacity.

Budget and staffing

The Division receives both state and federal funding. State funding consists primarily
of General Fund appropriations. Although most licensing fees are deposited into the
General Fund, fees deposited into the Hearing and Speech Professionals Fund are
appropriated to the Division for regulating hearing and speech professionals.1 The
Division also receives federal Title XVIII and Title XIX monies from CMS and AHCCCS
for Medicare and Medicaid certification. In addition, it receives federal Child Care and
Development Fund and Maternal and Child Health Services grant monies from the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to help pay for the cost of regulating
child care facilities and nonnurse midwives, respectively. Table 3 (see page 6) shows
the Division’s revenues and expenditures for fiscal years 2006 through 2008. The
Division’s largest expenditures are for salaries and employee-related expenses.

The Division is led by an assistant director who reports to the Department’s director.
Division staff also include a deputy assistant director, program managers, surveyors,
survey team leaders, administrative and support staff, and architects. As of
November 2008, the Division had 254.58 full-time equivalent positions, of which 31
were vacant.

Scope and objectives

This performance audit focused on determining the extent to which licensing fees for
healthcare and child care facilities cover the regulatory costs. This report has one
finding:

 Licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities could be modified to cover
more of the State's regulatory costs. The Department should develop a cost-
based method for calculating fees, including direct and indirect licensing and
monitoring costs, and propose new fees to the Legislature based on this
method. The Legislature should consider modifying licensing fees through
revising the statutory caps, authorizing the Department to set fees in rule, or
establishing a mechanism in statute for determining fees.

This audit was conducted in accordance with generally accepted government
auditing standards. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to
obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings

1 Laws 2008, Chapter 291, §12, authorizes the Department to generate an additional $600,000 in licensing-fee revenue in
fiscal year 2009 (see Finding 1, pages 9 through 21). The law appropriates the $600,000 directly to the Department. 
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Fee (license period)  Fee Amount  
Statute 

Establishing Fee 
   

Healthcare Facilities (1 year, 3 years for accredited hospitals) 
Assisted living, long-term care, medical (including hospitals), and behavioral health facilities 

Application fee $ 50 A.R.S. §36-405 
License fee 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 
100-149 beds 
150 or more beds 

$100 base fee 
$100 base fee 
$200 base fee 
$300 base fee 
$500 base fee 

plus $25/bed1 

plus $25/bed1 
plus $25/bed1 
plus $25/bed1 

 

Child Care Facilities (3 years) 
Child care centers 

Application fee $150 A.R.S. §36-882 
Late filing fee 50 

Child care group homes 
Application fee $30 A.R.S. §36-897.01 
Late filing fee 25 

 

Other Licensing Programs 
Hearing aid dispensers (1 year)2 

License fee $350 ($250 application fee, $100 license fee) A.R.S. §36-1908 
Reciprocity license 200 ($100 application fee, $100 license fee) 
Organization license 200 ($100 application fee, $100 license fee) 
Temporary license 200 ($100 application fee, $100 license fee) 
Renewal license 100 
Late filing fee 25 
Duplicate license fee 25 

Audiologists and speech-language pathologists (1 year)2 

Application fee $200 ($100 application fee, $100 license fee) A.R.S. §36-1908 
Renewal fee 100 
Late filing fee 25 
Duplicate license fee 25 

Nonnurse midwives (2 years) 
Application fee $25 A.R.S. §36-758 
Initial licensing fee3 25 
Renewal fee3 25 
Testing fee3 100 
Duplicate license fee 10  

Architectural drawing review 
Fee Project cost: 

$0-$99,999 
100,000-499,999 
500,000 and over 

$50 
100 
150 

A.R.S. §36-405 

 

Table 2: Licensing Fee Descriptions, Fee Amounts, and Authorizing Statutes
As of October 1, 2008

1 Although statute establishes a $10 bed fee, the Department increased the bed fee to $25 in September 2008 in
response to Laws 2008, Chapter 291, §12, which authorized the Department to increase fees.

2 Fees for these licensees are authorized in statute, but the fee amounts are set by the Department in the Arizona
Administrative Code.

3 A.R.S. §36-758 authorizes the Department to charge up to $50 for a license and up to $250 for testing.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of applicable Arizona Revised Statutes, Arizona Administrative Code, and session
laws.
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 2006 2007 2008 

Revenues:     
State General Fund appropriations $ 7,793,273 $  9,468,913 $  9,841,641 
Federal grants and contracts 5,577,109 4,964,529 5,959,894 
Licensing fees 1,347,391 1,484,052 1,443,467 
Fines, forfeits, and penalties 614,661 688,808 802,581 
Other        35,104        12,647        17,074 

Total revenues 15,367,538 16,618,949 18,064,657 
    

Expenditures:1    
Personal services and related benefits 11,110,201 13,035,897 14,037,597 
Professional and outside services 116,690 38,995 52,152 
Travel 418,209 431,114 400,651 
Aid to organizations 122,307 176,907 362,999 
Other operating 471,517 532,019 530,642 
Equipment      121,790      224,943        81,905 

Total expenditures  12,360,714 14,439,875 15,465,946 
    

Excess of revenues over expenditures   3,006,824   2,179,074   2,598,711 
    

Other financing sources (uses):    
Remittances to the State General Fund2 (1,525,168) (1,633,142) (1,598,618) 
Net operating transfers in (out)    (883,783)     (546,622) (1,671,959) 

Total other financing sources (uses) (2,408,951)  (2,179,764)  (3,270,577) 
    
Excess (deficiency) of revenues and other sources 

over expenditures and other uses $   597,873 $         (690)3 $  (671,866)3 
 

 
 

 

 
    

 

 
  

Table 3: Division’s Schedule of Revenues, Expenditures, and
Other Financing Sources and Uses
Fiscal Years 2006 through 2008
(Unaudited)

1 Administrative adjustments are included in the fiscal year paid.

2 As required by A.R.S. §35-146 all licensing fees; fines, forfeits, and penalties; and other revenues collected by the
Division, except those deposited into the Hearing and Speech Professionals Fund and the Nursing Care Revolving
Fund, are remitted to the State General Fund.

3 According to the Division, the deficiencies in 2007 and 2008 resulted primarily from timing differences between
receipt of revenues and the use of those monies. The deficiencies were funded from unexpected prior years'
revenues.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of the Arizona Financial Information System Accounting Event Transaction File
for fiscal years 2006 through 2008.



and conclusions based on our audit objectives. We believe that the evidence
obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our
audit objectives.

The Auditor General and staff express appreciation to the Acting Director of the
Department of Health Services and her staff for their cooperation and assistance
throughout the audit.

Office of the Auditor General

page  7



State of Arizona

page  8



Licensing fees could be modified to cover more
regulatory costs

The licensing fees charged to healthcare and child care facilities cover only a small
part of the State’s costs of regulating the facilities and could potentially be changed
to cover more of these costs. As of fiscal year 2008, the General Fund subsidized
about 90 percent of the State’s cost to license and monitor these facilities. The fees
that cover the remaining 10 percent have been largely unchanged since the 1970s
and 1980s, and are not adequately based on relevant cost factors. Arizona’s fees are
considerably lower than those in two states that have set fees to fully recover
regulatory costs. Although decisions about the fees rest ultimately with the
Legislature, the Department of Health Services (Department) should take steps to
develop and propose fees that would more fully and accurately recoup regulatory
costs. These steps include adopting a systematic method for periodically measuring
costs, ensuring that information systems can collect the necessary data for
determining costs, and proposing appropriate fees, including obtaining input from
regulated facilities.

General Fund subsidizes cost of licensing and monitoring
healthcare and child care facilities

The General Fund subsidizes the majority of the State’s costs for licensing and
monitoring healthcare and child care facilities. Licensing-fee revenue, which helps
offset these costs, covers only a small portion of what the State spends. The portion
covered by fees has been made even smaller by the Department’s inability to issue
some licenses within statutory time frames because the Department must refund the
fee if it does not issue a license on time. Although legislation passed in 2008 will
increase fee revenue and may improve the Department’s efficiency in processing
renewal license applications, the State will likely continue to subsidize a large portion

Office of the Auditor General

page  9

FINDING 1



of licensing costs. In addition, growth in the Department’s workload and the
complexity of the licensed industries will likely create a need for additional General
Fund monies in the future.

State’s costs exceed licensing-fee revenue—In fiscal year 2008, the State
spent over $10.9 million in General Fund monies to regulate healthcare and child
care facilities but collected less than $1.1 million in fee revenue. This is less than
10 percent of the total amount spent. Arizona uses the General Fund to pay the
majority of the State’s costs for licensing and monitoring healthcare and child care
facilities.1 Although licensing fees collected from these facilities are deposited into
the General Fund and help defray the State’s costs, most of the General Fund
money spent to regulate the facilities comes from general taxes and other
revenues.

The subsidy has increased in recent years. Figure 1 (see page 11) shows how the
total cost of licensing and monitoring these facilities compares with licensing-fee
revenue for fiscal years 2006 through 2008. As shown in the figure, costs have
increased by more than $2.5 million over the past 3 years, while fee revenue has
remained relatively flat. As a result, the percentage of total costs recouped by fee
revenue has dropped from approximately 12.1 percent in fiscal year 2006 to 9.7
percent in fiscal year 2008.

Moreover, fee revenue that the Department is required to refund when it does not
issue licenses within established time frames increases the state subsidy. Arizona
Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §41-1077 requires state agencies to refund licensing
fees if license applications are not processed within established time frames. For
example, in fiscal year 2008, the State actually received almost $1.4 million in fee
revenue, but refunded over $297,000 (approximately 22 percent) because of
missed time frames. Most of the refunds were for assisted living and long-term
care facilities.

Recent legislative changes will have limited effect on subsidy—The
Legislature took two separate actions in 2008 that will increase fee revenues, but
these changes are not likely to have much impact on reducing the General Fund
subsidy. Specifically:

 Laws 2008, Chapter 291, §12, authorized the Department to increase any of
its fees to generate $600,000 in additional revenue during fiscal year 2009.2

The Department decided to raise licensing fees for healthcare facilities with
inpatient beds, such as hospitals, nursing homes, and assisted living centers,
by increasing the per-bed portion of the fee to $25 from the previous amount
of $10. The fee increase went into effect for all licenses that expired on or after

In fiscal year 2008, the
State collected fees
equal to less than 10
percent of the total
amount spent to
regulate healthcare and
child care facilities.

2008 legislation
authorized the
Department to increase
fees by a total of
$600,000 in fiscal year
2009.

1 General Fund monies also pay for the cost of state matching requirements for federal Title XIX funding the Department
receives for performing Medicaid certification duties related to healthcare facilities. The State matches $1 for every $1 of
Title XIX monies received for assisted living and behavioral health programs, and $1 for every $3 of Title XIX monies
received for the long-term care program.

2 The increased revenue will not increase the Department’s overall revenues because the General Fund appropriation for
licensing was reduced by $600,000 for fiscal year 2009.
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September 30, 2008. However, the fee increase will have limited impact on
total revenue. Although department officials believe the fee increase will
generate the full $600,000 in additional revenue authorized by the law, the
amount is less than 6 percent of the total General Fund cost of regulating
healthcare and child care facilities in fiscal year 2008. Moreover, the fee
increase does not affect facilities that do not have inpatient beds, such as
outpatient treatment centers. As of October 2008, almost 43 percent of state-
licensed healthcare facilities had no inpatient beds.

 Laws 2008, Chapter 66, allows the Department to conduct the on-site
compliance survey for healthcare and child care facility renewal licenses at
any time during the license period, instead of having to conduct the survey
before issuing the license. Division of Licensing Services (Division)
management believes this change will help licensing staff schedule their work
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Figure 1: Comparison of General Fund Costs1 and Licensing Fee Revenues
Fiscal Years 2006 through 2008
(Unaudited)

1 Amounts include indirect costs incurred by the Division and the Department for regulating healthcare
and child care facilities. Amounts also include General Fund monies used for state matching
requirements for Title XIX funding for Medicaid certification. The state matching portion of the costs
was approximately $1 million in fiscal year 2006, $1.2 million in fiscal year 2007, and $1.3 million in
fiscal year 2008.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of data from the Arizona Financial Information System
Accounting Event Transaction File and the Department’s cost-allocation rates for indirect and
data-processing costs for fiscal years 2006 through 2008.



more efficiently, particularly for surveys that require travel, and issue renewal
licenses within established time frames, thereby reducing refunds. However,
even a complete elimination of refunds would have a limited impact on the
General Fund subsidy. The $297,000 refunded in fiscal year 2008 is less than
3 percent of the General Fund cost of regulating healthcare and child care
facilities in that year.

Increased workload will likely affect need for General Fund monies—
Even with these legislative changes, growth in the volume and complexity of work
the Division performs will likely increase the need for General Fund monies. The
Division’s workload grew significantly between fiscal years 2003 and 2008.
According to division data, the average number of healthcare and child care
facilities with active licenses increased over 19 percent between fiscal years 2003
and 2008, from 5,857 to 6,978 facilities. Most of this growth occurred in the
assisted living, medical facilities, and child care programs. In addition, the number
of hospitals that do not have accreditation and thus require an annual compliance
survey for licensure has grown from 11 out of 76 hospitals in 2000 to 30 out of 89
hospitals in 2008.

Besides the growth in number of facilities, surveys have become more complex
and enforcement actions have increased. According to division management,
licensed healthcare facilities are providing more complex and sophisticated
patient care than ever before. Management believes that this increase in the
complexity of patient care and other factors have led to lengthier, more complex
surveys and complaint investigations, and increased enforcement actions. These
factors include nursing and child care staff shortages in the healthcare and child
care industries, an increase in lawsuits that rely on the results of complaint
investigations, and greater public awareness of the Division’s regulatory role.
Division management also reported that a slight increase in the number of
complaints against unlicensed facilities and an increase in the number of private
doctors who are joining their practices with medical facilities are also increasing
the Division’s workload. Overall, division data shows that the number of
enforcement actions against healthcare and child care facilities combined
increased 158 percent over the past 5 years, from 212 actions in fiscal year 2003
to 547 actions in fiscal year 2008. The assisted living, long-term care, and child
care programs had the greatest increase in the number of actions. Enforcement
actions can require significant amounts of staff time.

Department and division management believe these trends have and will continue
to increase the need for additional General Fund monies. State financial data
shows that the Division’s General Fund appropriations increased nearly 43 percent
since fiscal year 2003, from over $6.5 million that year to over $9.3 million in fiscal
year 2009.
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The average number of
licensed facilities
increased over 19
percent between fiscal
years 2003 and 2008.



Arizona’s licensing fees outdated and not based on
relevant cost factors

Arizona’s licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities had not been updated
for many years until some fees were increased in September 2008, and as discussed
previously, this increase will not substantially change the subsidy. In addition,
Arizona’s fees are not adequately based on factors that affect cost.

Licensing fees have not changed in several years—Arizona has not
updated its licensing fees for child care facilities in at least 20 years, and its fees
for healthcare facilities had not changed for nearly that long until the legislative
change that took effect in September 2008. The licensing
fee for child care centers was last updated in 1976 when it
increased from $25 to $50 per year. The fee for child care
group homes has remained $30 for a 3-year certificate since
it was established in 1988.1 Until the bed fee increased in
September 2008, licensing fees for healthcare facilities had
not changed since they were established in 1989. However,
although the bed fee has increased from $10 to $25 per
bed, the base and application fees have not changed.
Consequently, the fee increase does not affect the 43
percent of facilities without licensed beds, such as
outpatient treatment centers.

According to division management, the Department has
had internal discussions about proposing fee increases in
the past, but these discussions have never led to a
legislative proposal because of concerns that there would
be a lack of support.

Licensing fees not based on costs—The State’s licensing fees for healthcare
and child care facilities are not adequately based on factors that can affect the
costs of regulating a particular facility. Some factors that can affect costs include:

 LLiicceennsseedd  ccaappaacciittyy——The Division’s costs may vary depending on licensed
capacity. For example, the survey for a child care center with a licensed
capacity of several hundred spaces may take longer than the survey for a
center with a licensed capacity of 20 spaces. Although Arizona’s fees for
healthcare facilities vary based on capacity, fees for child care facilities do not.
Consequently, a child care center with several hundred licensed spaces pays
the same fee as a center with 20 licensed spaces.

 TTyyppee  ooff  ffaacciilliittyy——Regulatory costs may also vary depending on the type of
facility and the applicable rules and regulations. Some facilities require more
time to regulate than others. For example, according to division data, a

The Division’s regulatory
costs may vary
depending on the facility
type.

1 Although the licensing fees have not changed, in 1992 the Legislature added a late application fee of $50 for child care
centers and $25 for child care group homes.
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Year in which Arizona’s licensing fees
for child care and healthcare facilities
were last modified

FFaacciilliittyy  TTyyppee YYeeaarr

CChhiilldd  CCaarree  FFaacciilliittiieess

Child Care Centers 1976

Child Care Group Homes 1988

HHeeaalltthhccaarree  FFaacciilliittiieess

Application Fee 1989

Base Fee 1989

Bed Fee 2008

Sources: Auditor General staff analysis of Arizona Revised Statutes
and session laws. 



renewal survey for state licensure of an assisted living center, which has a
typical licensed capacity of 70 beds, can take approximately 21 person-hours,
while the survey for a home health agency, which has no licensed capacity,
can take 33 person-hours. Consequently, capacity may not fully account for
differences in survey times resulting from differences in facility types. Although
Arizona charges different fees for different types of child care facilities,
healthcare facilities with the same capacity pay the same fee regardless of
facility type.

In addition, A.R.S. §§36-885 and 36-897.05 require the Division to conduct
annual inspections of child care facilities, but these facilities have 3-year
licenses. Thus, regulatory costs are incurred annually, while revenue is only
collected every 3 years.

 FFaacciilliittiieess’’  ccoommpplliiaannccee  wwiitthh  rreeqquuiirreemmeennttss——The Division’s costs may also vary
depending on a facility’s compliance with rules and regulations.
Noncompliance can result in follow-up inspections, complaint investigations,
and enforcement actions, which increase the cost of regulating facilities. In
Arizona, facilities that require follow-up inspections and complaint
investigations do not pay more for their licenses than facilities that comply with
requirements.

Because fees do not account for all of the factors that may affect costs, the
General Fund subsidizes some licensing programs more than others. As seen in
Table 4 (see page 15), although none of the Division’s healthcare and child care
licensing programs’ revenues cover the programs’ costs, some programs’
revenues covered more costs than others’. Further, the average costs to regulate
facilities vary by program. Thus, although all of the programs were subsidized, fees
that do not account for differences in costs might be inequitable.

Some states go further than Arizona in basing fees on
costs

To provide points of comparison with Arizona’s fees and practices, auditors
contacted eight Western states.1 Nearly all of these states go beyond Arizona in
taking facility type and capacity into account in their fee structures, and some go
beyond Arizona in attempting to recover regulatory costs.

Other states’ fees take relevant cost factors more into account—
Compared with Arizona’s fee structure, fees in the eight other states generally had
greater differentiation based on the type and size of facilities. Specifically:

Arizona’s healthcare
and child care facility
licensing fees are not
adequately based on
relevant cost factors.

1 The eight states—California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington—were selected
based on their geographic and demographic similarity to Arizona.
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 LLiicceennsseedd  ccaappaacciittyy——In Arizona, fees for child care facilities do not vary by
capacity. Seven of the eight comparison states charge renewal licensing fees
for child care centers that vary based on capacity.

 TTyyppee  ooff  ffaacciilliittyy——Although Arizona’s fees for healthcare facilities do not vary by
facility type, fees in all eight comparison states often do. (see Table 6 in
Appendix A, pages a-i through a-v). Two of these states, California and
Nevada, set fees for different healthcare facility types based on the time it
takes to regulate them.

 FFaacciilliittiieess’’  ccoommpplliiaannccee  wwiitthh  rreeqquuiirreemmeennttss——Two of the states that auditors
reviewed—Washington and California—have additional fees for non-
compliance. Specifically, Washington has established fees for on-site surveys
resulting from substantiated complaints and other follow-up surveys for some
of its healthcare facilities. Additionally, for assisted living and child care
facilities, California has established probation-monitoring fees for facilities that
are on probation and plan-of-correction fees for facilities that fail to implement
corrective plans by a specified date.

Some states have set fees to cover full regulatory costs—Arizona’s
licensing fees are considerably lower than those in two states that set their fees to
fully recover regulatory costs. Table 5 (see page 16) compares Arizona’s fees with
eight other states’ fees using example fees for seven types of facilities, including
hospitals, nursing homes, and child care centers.1 Auditors based the example

Arizona’s licensing fees
are much lower than
two Western states
where fees are set to
cover full regulatory
costs.
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Assisted 
Living 

Program 

Long-Term 
Care 

Program 

Medical 
Facilities 
Program  

Behavioral 
Health 

Program 

Child  
Care 

Program Total 

Number of facilities1 2,044 152 1,618 881 2,929 7,624 

Costs $2,933,782 $1,303,751 $1,212,180 $1,469,562 $4,012,855 $10,932,130 
Licensing fee revenue 431,593 80,820 221,310 178,550 150,565 1,062,838 
Average costs per facility 1,435 8,577 749 1,668 1,370 1,434 
Average revenue per facility 211 532 137 203 51 139 

Revenue as a percentage of costs 14.7% 6.2% 18.3% 12.1% 3.8% 9.7% 
 

Table 4: General Fund Costs and Licensing Fee Revenues by Program
Fiscal Year 2008
(Unaudited)

1 The number of facilities is based on the average number of facilities with active and pending licenses for the fiscal year. The numbers may
include a small number of facilities that do not pay licensing fees because they are exempted from doing so by statute or because they
are federally certified but not state licensed.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of data from the Arizona Financial Information System Accounting Event Transaction File, the
Department’s cost-allocation rates for indirect and data-processing costs, and data on licensees from the Division’s performance
measures for fiscal year 2008.

1 See Table 6 in Appendix A (pages a-i through a-v) for a more complete comparison of renewal licensing fee schedules
across all nine states.
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fees on typical licensed capacities for such facilities in Arizona. As the table shows,
compared to all eight states, Arizona’s licensing fees are relatively low for inpatient
hospices, psychiatric hospitals, home health agencies, and child care centers, but
at or above the middle fee for assisted living centers, nursing homes, and
hospitals.

Most notably, Arizona’s fees were often much lower than fees in three states—
California, Nevada, and Washington. Two of these states, California and Nevada,
have set fees for licensed healthcare facilities so that fee revenue covers the cost
of regulating them.1 For example, California passed legislation in 2006 that
requires the agency that regulates healthcare facilities to be entirely supported by
federal funding and fee revenue, unless General Fund monies are specifically
appropriated. Consequently, California has set fees to cover the cost of regulating
licensed healthcare facilities, such as hospitals and nursing homes. According to
a state official, California’s General Fund is not expected to subsidize any of the
estimated $91 million cost to regulate healthcare facilities in fiscal year 2009.
Nevada has also set fees to cover the costs of regulating healthcare facilities,
including hospitals, and does not rely on General Fund appropriations.

Department should propose raising licensing fees to
cover more of regulatory costs

Although the Department does not have the authority to raise licensing fees for
healthcare and child care facilities, it is the logical place to start in developing a
proposal for possible fee increases. Licensing fees for these facilities are set in
statute, and therefore, the Legislature would need to approve any fee changes.
However, the Department is in the position to determine regulatory costs, and
therefore to develop a fee proposal that could reduce or eliminate the General Fund
subsidy. Arizona relies entirely on fee revenue to cover costs for some other
regulatory activities. To propose fees that would more fully and accurately recoup
regulatory costs, however, the Department would need to adopt a systematic method
for periodically measuring costs, ensure that information systems
can collect the necessary data for determining costs, and obtain
input from regulated facilities. The Legislature could then
consider various options for implementing the proposal, if it so
chooses.

Raising fees to cover costs is an option—Using fees to
fully cover regulatory costs occurs in Arizona and other state
governments. For example, in Arizona, 90/10 boards, such as
the Arizona Medical Board, which regulates allopathic
physicians, are entirely funded by revenue derived from the

1 Another comparison state, Colorado, also passed legislation in 2007 to fund the regulation of its healthcare facilities solely
with fee revenue. Colorado has revised fees to cover the costs of regulating hospitals and psychiatric hospitals, but is still
in the process of revising fees for other facilities.

AArriizzoonnaa  9900//1100  BBooaarrdd——A board, usually a
regulatory board, that keeps 90 percent of
its revenue and remits 10 percent to the
General Fund. The revenue kept by the
board finances 100 percent of the board’s
regulatory costs.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of information from the
Arizona Department of Administration’s General
Accounting Office Web site.



The Department should
seek to minimize costs
where possible.

1 Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review: State Agency Fees: FY 2001Collections
and Potential New Fee Revenues. Jackson, MI: Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure
Review, Dec. 2002.

2 According to PEER, the approach was based on a review of academic literature, economics theory, and policies and
procedures from various states and the United States and Canadian governments.
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regulated entities. Within the Department itself, licensing fees fully fund the Arizona
State Laboratory’s environmental laboratory licensure program as well as the
Division’s regulation of hearing and speech professionals. In addition, as
mentioned previously, some states, such as California and Nevada, use licensing-
fee revenue to pay for the cost of regulating some facilities, and Colorado is
currently moving toward doing so.

Department should evaluate fees and propose adjustments as
needed—The Department should develop or adopt a structured approach to
evaluate its licensing fees and propose new fees that would cover more, if not all,
of its costs. Mississippi’s Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation
and Expenditure Review (PEER) developed an approach for evaluating and setting
fees that the Department might find useful.1 PEER’s approach consists of a
decision model for establishing or increasing government fees, called the Theory
of Fee Setting in Government, as well as guidance on implementing new fees.2

Figure 2 (see page 19) summarizes key concepts from PEER’s approach.

As part of its approach, the Department should develop an appropriate method for
calculating fees based on direct and indirect costs for licensing and monitoring
healthcare and child care facilities. In doing so, the Department might want to
consider contacting other states, such as California and Nevada, to determine how
they calculate their fees and what effect raising fees to cover costs had on their
licensed facilities. In addition, the Department should do the following:

 AAsssseessss  eeffffiicciieennccyy  ooff  ooppeerraattiioonnss——The Department should assess the
efficiency of its operations to ensure costs are as low as possible and
document the results of its assessment. The Department should seek to
minimize costs where possible.

 DDeevveelloopp  ffeeeess  bbaasseedd  oonn  rreelleevvaanntt  ccoosstt  ffaaccttoorrss——To make fees more equitable,
the Department should consider charging fees based on licensed capacity
and the time it takes to regulate different facilities for both healthcare and child
care facilities. In addition, the Department should determine an appropriate
method for including the cost of follow-up inspections, complaint
investigations, and other monitoring activities that result from noncompliance
with licensing rules. For example, the Department could consider charging
separate fees for these activities.

 AAsssseessss  aaddeeqquuaaccyy  ooff  ccuurrrreenntt  iinnffoorrmmaattiioonn  ssyysstteemmss——The Department should
assess the adequacy of its current systems for tracking direct and indirect
cost data related to its licensing activities. It should also track time spent on
licensing and monitoring activities for all of its licensing programs. The
Department uses a federal information system to track time spent on activities

Arizona’s 90/10 boards
and some other
licensure programs
have fees that fully
cover regulatory costs.
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Figure 2: Mississippi Joint Legislative Committee on 
Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review
Structured Fee-Setting Process Developed for State Government

Determine whether fees or taxes should fund the service
Who benefits from the service: individuals, the public, or both?

• Fees should be used to finance services that benefit individuals.
• Taxes should be used to finance services that benefit the public.
• When both individuals and the public benefit from a service, financing can come

from both fees and taxes.

Identify and analyze legal issues
• Are fees limited by statute?
• If so, is legislation required to change them?
• Should administrative rules be revised?

Identify the purpose of the fee
• Should the fee cover the cost of providing the service?
• Should fees be set to influence behavior?
• Should fees be set to encourage compliance with program regulations

and goals?

Assess factors influencing the fee amount
• What effect will the fee have on those who pay the fee?
• What effect will the fee have on annual revenue?
• What do similar states charge for the service?
• Will the public accept the necessity of the fee?
• Is the Department subsidizing other government operations?

Determine appropriate methodology for setting fees
• Determine if there is a comprehensive cost-accounting system.
• Seek to reduce costs as much as possible.
• Measure direct and indirect costs of the time staff spends in service activities.
• Determine economic impact on regulated entities.

Implement fees
• Obtain amended legislation and regulations as needed.
• Prepare those who pay fees for changes by providing advance notice and by

explaining the purpose and reasons for new fees.
• Train staff to answer questions regarding the new fees.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of fee-setting model included in the State Agency Fees: FY 2001
Collections and Potential New Fee Revenues report prepared by the Mississippi Joint Legislative
Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review.

Periodically reassess revenue, costs, and program outcomes to
update fee amounts



The Department should
obtain facilities’ input in
developing the fees.

Healthcare and child
care facilities fee
increases would require
legislative approval.
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for the assisted living, long-term care, and medical facilities programs, but
does not regularly collect data for the behavioral health and child care
programs. The Department should enhance or develop cost-data systems as
needed and as resources are available.

 CCoonnssiiddeerr  tthhee  eeffffeecctt  ooff  ffeeee  cchhaannggeess  oonn  lliicceennsseedd  ffaacciilliittiieess——The Department
should determine the effect of fee changes on the licensed facilities,
particularly smaller facilities, and obtain facilities’ input in developing the fees.
If proposed fees are significantly higher than the current fees, the Department
might recommend increasing fees gradually.

Once developed or adopted, the Department should use the approach to assess
its fees and propose new fees to the Legislature as appropriate. In addition, the
Department should develop and implement policies and procedures for using the
method to periodically reassess revenues, costs, and program outcomes to
update fees as needed. Moreover, the Department may wish to consider using the
method to assess and propose any adjustments to the Division’s other fees, which
include architectural review fees and licensing fees for hearing and speech
professionals and nonnurse midwives.

Legislative action needed to revise fees—Because licensing fees for
healthcare and child care facilities are set in statute, the Legislature would need to
approve any fee increases or new fees the Department proposed. In considering
any proposed fee changes, the Legislature may also wish to consider the following
actions:

 AAllllooww  ffeeeess  ttoo  bbee  sseett  bbyy  rruullee——The Legislature could consider removing the fee
amounts from statute and giving the Department authority to set fees by rule,
similar to statute governing the Department’s fees for the environmental
laboratory licensure program at the Arizona State Laboratory. A.R.S. §36-
495.06 authorizes the Department to establish fees for licensing
environmental laboratories by rule, but stipulates that fees should not exceed
the Department’s licensing costs. This revision would allow the Department to
increase fees to cover more or all of the regulatory costs and periodically
adjust fees as needed, while maintaining some legislative control over the fee
amounts.

 EEssttaabblliisshh  aa  ssttaattuuttoorryy  ffeeee-sseettttiinngg  mmeetthhoodd——Alternatively, the Legislature could
consider replacing fee amounts in statute with a statutory method for setting
fees. For example, California uses a statutory method to set licensing fees for
healthcare facilities each year. California’s Health and Safety Code §1266
requires California to determine the fee for different types of healthcare
facilities by dividing the total cost for licensing each type of facility (based on
projected workload and budgeted costs) by the number of licensed beds (for
inpatient facilities) or the number of licensed facilities (for outpatient facilities).



Recommendations:

1.1. The Department should develop or adopt a structured approach to evaluate its
current licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities. As part of its
approach, the Department should develop a cost-based method for calculating
fees that includes all direct and indirect costs. In developing this method, the
Department should do the following:

a. Assess the efficiency of its operations to ensure costs are as low as possible
and document the results of its assessment. The Department should seek to
minimize costs where possible.

b. Develop fees that address factors that influence cost, including licensed
capacity, the time it takes to regulate different facility types, and additional
work resulting from noncompliance with licensing rules.

c. Assess the adequacy of current systems for tracking direct and indirect cost
data for all of its licensing programs. The Department should enhance or
develop new systems as needed and as resources are available.

d. Consider the effect fee increases may have on different facilities and obtain
their input in proposing new fees. If proposed fees are significantly higher than
current fees, the Department might recommend increasing fees gradually.

1.2. Once the Department has developed its approach, it should evaluate its licensing
fees for healthcare and child care facilities and propose new fees to the Legislature
that would cover more, if not all, of its regulatory costs.

1.3. After receiving the Department’s proposal, the Legislature should consider
modifying licensing fees through revising the statutory caps, authorizing the
Department to set fees in rule, or establishing a mechanism in statute for
determining fees.

1.4. The Department should develop and implement policies and procedures for using
the approach to periodically reassess revenues, costs, and program outcomes to
update fees as needed.

Office of the Auditor General

page  21



State of Arizona

page  22



Office of the Auditor General

page  a-i

APPENDIX A

  Fee Schedule 

State 
License 
Period Base Fee 

Capacity 
Fee Other Fees 

Hospital 
Arizona 1 year 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 

100-149 beds 
150 or more beds 

 $100 
100 
200 
300 
500 $25 

per bed 
$50 

application fee 
California 1 year      $257.76 

   per bed 
 

Colorado1 1 year 1-50 beds 
51-150 beds 
151 or more 

 $ 900 
1,400 
2,000 

$12 
per bed 

$15 
Health Care Availability Act 

charge 
Nevada 1 year  $5,000 $30 

per bed 
 

New Mexico 1 year   $6 
per bed 

 

Oregon 1 year 0-25 beds 
26-49 beds 
50-99 beds 

100-199 beds 
200 or more beds 

 $ 750 
1,000 
1,900 
2,900 
3,400 

  

Texas 2 years   $39 
per bed 

$20 
Online subscription fee 

Utah 2 years  $400 $30 
per bed 

$200 
per satellite location 

$20 
per free standing residential 

treatment center 
Washington 3 years   $113 

per bed 
per year 

 

Inpatient Hospice 
Arizona 1 year 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 

100-149 beds 
150 or more beds 

 $100 
100 
200 
300 
500 

$25 
per bed 

$50 
 application 

fee 
California 2 years $1,875.41 

per year 
  

Colorado 1 year $360   
Nevada 1 year $782 $92 

per bed 
 

New Mexico 1 year $100   
Oregon 1 year 0-25 beds 

26-49 beds 
50-99 beds 

100-199 beds 
200 or more beds 

 $ 750 
1,000 
1,900 
2,900 
3,400 

  

Texas 2 years $1,750   
Utah 2 years  $400 $24 

per bed 
 

Washington 2 years 0-5 beds 
6-10 beds 

11-15 beds 
16-20 beds 

 $ 720 
1,442 
2,162 
2,883 

  

Table 6: Renewal Licensing Fee Schedules for Arizona and
Eight Western States by Facility Type
Fiscal Year 2009

1 Colorado charges a maximum fee of $8,000 for hospital renewal licenses.
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  Fee Schedule 

State 
License 
Period Base Fee 

Capacity 
Fee Other Fees 

Psychiatric Hospital 
Arizona 1 year 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 

100-149 beds 
150 or more beds 

 $100 
100 
200 
300 
500 

$25 
per bed 

$50 
Application 

fee 
California 1 year   $257.76 

 per bed 
 

Colorado1 1 year  $1,600 
$12 

per bed 

$15 
Health Care Availability Act 

Charge  
Nevada 1 year  $5,000 $30 

per bed 
 

New Mexico 1 year   $6 
per bed 

 

Oregon 1 year 0-25 beds 
26-49 beds 
50-99 beds 

100-199 beds 
200 or more beds 

 $ 750 
1,000 
1,900 
2,900 
3,400 

  

Texas2 2 years   $200 
per bed 

$20 
Online subscription fee 

Utah 2 years  $400 $30 
per bed 

$200 
per satellite location 

$20 
per free standing residential 

treatment center 
Washington 1 year   $70 

per bed 
 

Nursing Home 
Arizona 1 year 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 

100-149 beds 
150 or more 

 $100 
100 
200 
300 
500 

$25 
per bed 

$50 
Application 

fee 
California 1 year   $287 

per bed 
 

Colorado 1 year  $360   
Nevada 1 year  $1,100 $30 

per bed 
 

New Mexico 1 year   $6 
per bed 

 

Oregon 1 year 1-15 beds 
16-49 beds 
50-99 beds 

100-199 beds 
200 or more beds 

 $120 
175 
350 
450 
580 

  

Texas 2 years  $250 $10 
per bed 

 

Utah 2 years  $400 $24 
per bed 

 

Washington 1 year   $275 
per bed 

 

 

Table 6: Renewal Licensing Fee Schedules for Arizona and
Eight Western States by Facility Type
Fiscal Year 2009
(Continued)

1 Colorado charges a maximum fee of $8,000 for psychiatric hospital renewal licenses.

2 Texas requires a minimum fee of $6,000 for psychiatric hospitals.
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  Fee Schedule 

State 
License 
Period Base Fee 

Capacity 
Fee Other Fees 

Home Health Agency 
Arizona1 1 year   $100  $50 

application fee 
California 1 year  $4,159.42    
Colorado Not state 

licensed 
    

Nevada 1 year  $1,517   
New Mexico 1 year  $100   
Oregon 1 year  $600 + $600 

for each 
subunit 

  

Texas 2 years  $1,750   
Utah 2 years  $400  $1,150 

agency fee 
plus $200 

per branch 
Washington2 2 years 1-5 FTEs 

6-15 FTEs 
16-50 FTEs 

51-100 FTEs 
101 or more FTEs 

 $2,162 
3,041 
3,460 
4,361 
4,491 

  

 

Table 6: Renewal Licensing Fee Schedules for Arizona and
Eight Western States by Facility Type
Fiscal Year 2009
(Continued)

1 Arizona’s home health agencies have no beds. Therefore, they pay only a $50 application fee
and a $100 base fee.

2 Washington bases its licensing fee for home health agencies on full-time equivalent employee
positions.
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  Fee Schedule 

State 
License 
Period Base Fee 

Capacity 
Fee Other Fees 

Assisted Living Center 
Arizona 1 year 0 beds 

1-59 beds 
60-99 beds 

100-149 beds 
150 or more beds 

 $   100 
100 
200 
300 
500 

$25 
per bed 

$50 
application fee 

California Nonexpiring 1-3 beds 
4-6 beds 

7-15 beds 
16-30 beds 
31-49 beds 
50-74 beds 

75-100 beds 
101-150 beds 
151-200 beds 
201-250 beds 
251-300 beds 
301-350 beds 
351-400 beds 
401-500 beds 
501-600 beds 
601-700 beds 

701 or more beds 

 $   375 per year 
375 per year 
563 per year 
750 per year 
938 per year 

1,126 per year 
1,314 per year 
1,502 per year 
1,751 per year 
2,000 per year 
2,250 per year 
2,500 per year 
2,750 per year 
3,250 per year 
3,750 per year 
4,250 per year 
5,000 per year 

  

Colorado1 1 year   $23 
per bed 

$150 
application fee 

Nevada 1 year 1-10 beds 
11 or more beds 

 $1,085 
1,182 

$92 
per bed 

 

New 
Mexico 

1 year 2-29 beds 
30-50 beds 

51-100 beds 
101-150 beds 
151-200 beds 

201 or more beds 

 $100 
125 
150 
175 
200 
225 

  

Oregon 2 years  $60   
Texas2 1 year  $200 $10 

per bed 
 

Utah 2 years  $400 $20 
per bed 

 

Washington 1 year   $79 
per bed 

 

 

Table 6: Renewal Licensing Fee Schedules for Arizona and
Eight Western States by Facility Type
Fiscal Year 2009
(Continued)

1 Colorado’s assisted living centers pay $15 if they have at least 35 percent of licensed beds
occupied by Medicaid enrollees, based upon claims data.

2 Texas charges a maximum fee of $1,500 for assisted living centers.
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  Fee Schedule 

State 
License 
Period Base Fee 

Capacity 
Fee Other Fees 

Child Care Center 
Arizona 3 years    $150 

application fee 
California 1 year 1-30 spaces 

31-60 spaces 
61-75 spaces 
76-90 spaces 

91-120 spaces 
121 or more 

spaces 

 $ 200 
400 
500 
600 
800 

1,000 

  

Colorado Nonexpiring 5-20 spaces 
21-50 spaces 

51-100 spaces 
101-150 spaces 
151-250 spaces 

251 or more 
spaces 

 $  70 per year  
110 per year 
160 per year 
245 per year 
340 per year 
480 per year 

  

Nevada 1 year 5-6 children 
7-12 children 

13-50 children 
51-100 children 

101-150 children 
151-200 children 

201 or more 
children 

 $  20 
60 

100 
150 
200 
250 
300 

  

New Mexico 1 year    $55 
application fee 

Oregon 1 year  $2 
per space 

 

Texas Nonexpiring $35 
per year 

$1 
per child 
per year 

 

Utah 1 year $25 $1.50 
per child 

 

Washington1 3 years   $4 
per child 
per year 

 

 

Table 6: Renewal Licensing Fee Schedules for Arizona and
Eight Western States by Facility Type
Fiscal Year 2009
(Concluded)

1 Washington child care centers with less than 13 licensed spaces pay a flat fee of $48.

Source: Auditor General staff analysis of renewal licensing fees in Arizona, California,
Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington obtained
from state statutes, Web sites, administrative codes, and information provided by
officials and staff in these states.
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Methodology

Auditors used several methods to study the issues in this report. General methods
included interviewing Department of Health Services (Department) and Joint
Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) staff, and reviewing statutes, bills,
administrative code, department-prepared documents and reports, federal contract
awards, and Division of Licensing Services (Division) policies and procedures. In
addition, auditors used the following specific methods:

 LLiicceennssee  FFeeeess——To identify the Division’s total General Fund costs and licensing
fee revenues, auditors obtained and analyzed direct cost and revenue data from
the Arizona Financial Information System (AFIS) and calculated indirect costs
using the Department’s cost-allocation rates for indirect cost and data-
processing costs for fiscal years 2006 through 2008. To identify average General
Fund costs and licensing fee revenues per facility within each licensing program
for fiscal year 2008, auditors also used data from the Division’s fiscal year 2008
performance measures on the number of facilities with active and pending
licenses.

To document growth in the Division’s licensing workload, auditors analyzed data
from reports generated from the Division’s Automated Survey Processing
Environment (ASPEN) database, which is a federally mandated database used
to implement the Division’s survey process, and the Division’s Time and Effort
(T&E) database, which records surveyors’ and team leaders’ day-to-day
activities in 15-minute increments for the assisted living, medical facilities, and
long-term care programs. From the ASPEN database, auditors analyzed data
from reports on the average number of facilities with active licenses and the
number of enforcement actions for fiscal years 2003 through 2008. From the
T&E database, auditors reviewed an average-hours report that summarized the
average time spent on licensing activities for different facilities in federal fiscal
year 2007. Auditors also reviewed internal and system controls for the ASPEN
and T&E databases and concluded that the data from these databases was
valid for use in drawing conclusions. In addition to reports from these two
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databases, auditors reviewed division studies on average times spent on
licensing activities for the child care and behavioral health programs and other
data the Division provided on the number of accredited hospitals between fiscal
years 2000 and 2008.

To identify a systematic method for determining appropriate fees, auditors
reviewed literature, including a report by Mississippi’s Joint Legislative
Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review entitled State
Agency Fees: FY 2001 Collections and Potential New Fee Revenues.1

To determine how Arizona’s licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities
compare to other states’, auditors researched and compiled licensing fees and
other information for eight Western states (see the Appendix A bullet below).2 To
compare fees, auditors determined typical licensed capacities for Arizona's
facilities based on data provided by division staff, and used these capacities to
calculate example fees for selected facilities in all the comparison states.3

 IInnttrroodduuccttiioonn  aanndd  BBaacckkggrroouunndd——To develop information for the Introduction and
Background section, auditors compiled unaudited information from AFIS, the
Division’s performance measures, staffing-level documents, JLBC
appropriations reports for the Department for fiscal years 2008 and 2009, state
laws, Arizona Administrative Code, the Department’s fiscal year 2007 annual
report, the Department’s Web site, and other agency-provided documents.

 AAppppeennddiixx  AA——To create Table 6, which lists renewal licensing fees and licensing
periods for nine states and seven facility types, auditors compiled information
from various sources, including other states’ Web sites, statutes, administrative
codes, state-prepared documents, and officials and staff in relevant agencies.

1 Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review: State Agency Fees: FY 2001 Collections
and Potential New Fee Revenues. Jackson, MI: Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure
Review, Dec. 2002.

2 Auditors selected eight states to compare with Arizona—California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas,
Utah, and Washington—based on their geographic and demographic similarity to Arizona.

3 Auditors selected hospitals, psychiatric hospitals, home health agencies, assisted living facilities, nursing homes, and
child care facilities. Auditors chose these facilities to represent the five main division programs.
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Office of the Director 

    

150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 500   JANET NAPOLITANO, GOVERNOR 
Phoenix, Arizona  85007-2670 JANUARY CONTRERAS, ACTING DIRECTOR 

(602) 542-1025    
(602) 542-1062 FAX    

 

December 31, 2008 
 
 
Debbie Davenport 
Auditor General 
2910 N. 44

th
 Street, Suite 410 

Phoenix, Arizona   85018 
 
Dear Ms. Davenport, 
 
Thank you for the opportunity to review the report of the performance audit of the Arizona Department of 
Health Services (ADHS), Division of Licensing Services, Health Care and Child Care Facility Licensing 
Fees, conducted as part of the sunset review process prescribed in Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-2951 
et seq.  
 
The findings and recommendations contained in your report have been carefully reviewed by the staff of 
ADHS.  In accordance with the instructions contained in your letter of December 29, 2008, the attached 
response is provided.   
 
ADHS agrees with the Auditor General’s Report regarding the increased workload, both in quantity and 
complexity, including a 19 percent increase in the average number of facilities since 2003 and a 158 
percent increase in disciplinary actions since 2003.  In the past five years, the ability to meet this 
workload has suffered, causing delays in the issuance of new licenses for businesses.  This has resulted 
in child care and health care facility openings to be postponed.  Most of the time staff for these facilities 
has already been hired, causing businesses to generate a payroll without revenues.  Health care and 
child care programs are not able to inspect facilities within the licensing period in a timely manner or 
investigate all complaints within department guidelines, resulting in potential health and safety issues.  
Finally, ADHS has not been able to provide the necessary technical assistance needed to assist facilities 
to remain in compliance with the rules, thereby protecting health and safety.    
 
ADHS appreciates the hard work and professionalism exhibited, as well as the insight, provided by your 
staff during the audit process.  Your staff conducted extensive research regarding licensing fee models 
other states have used, and gave the time and effort to learn the very complicated licensing process. 
Your work on this audit will be of great value to ADHS and ultimately to the State. 
 
We are working diligently to develop a proposal that is both consistent with the report recommendations, 
and that can enable ADHS to better recruit and retain qualified licensing staff to ensure that our mission is 
accomplished timely and professionally.  Progress on both of these fronts will be key to continuing to 
improve ADHS’s work to protect the health and safety of Arizonans.   
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
January Contreras 
Acting Director  
Arizona Department of Health Services 
 
Enclosure 



Arizona Department of Health Services 
Responses to Recommendations of the Auditor General’s Preliminary Draft Report 

Division of Licensing, Healthcare and Child Care Facility Licensing Fees 
 

Recommendation 1.1:  The Department should develop or adopt a structured approach 
to evaluate its current licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities.  As part of its 
approach, the Department should develop a cost-based method for calculating fees that 
includes all direct and indirect costs.  In developing this method, the Department should 
do the following:  
  

a. Assess the efficiency of its operations to ensure costs are as low as possible 
and document the results of its assessment. The Department should seek to 
minimize costs where possible. 

b. Develop fees that address factors that influence cost, including licensed         
capacity, the time it takes to regulate different facility types, and additional 
work resulting from noncompliance with licensing goals. 

c. Assesses the adequacy of current systems for tracking direct and indirect cost 
data for all of its licensing programs.  The Department should enhance or 
develop new systems as needed and as resources are available. 

d. Consider the effect fee increases may have on different facilities and obtain 
their input in proposing new fees.  If proposed fees are significantly higher 
than current fees, the Department might recommend increasing fees gradually. 

 
Response:  The recommendation of the Auditor General is agreed to and the 
recommendation will be implemented. 
 
Recommendation 1.2:  Once the Department has developed its approach, it should 
evaluate its licensing fees for healthcare and child care facilities and propose new fees to 
the Legislature that would cover more, if not all, of its regulatory costs. 
 
Response:  The recommendation of the Auditor General is agreed to and the 
recommendation will be implemented. 
 
Recommendation 1.3:  After receiving the Department’s proposal, the Legislature 
should consider modifying licensing fees through revising the statutory caps, authorizing 
the Department to set fees in rule, or establishing a mechanism in statute for determining 
fees. 
 
Response:  The recommendation of the Auditor General is agreed to; however, the 
Department can only submit a proposal and cannot implement this 
recommendation without legislative approval. 
 
Recommendation 1.4:  The Department should develop and implement policies and 
procedures for using the approach to periodically reassess revenues, costs, and program 
outcomes to update fees as needed. 
 
Response:  The recommendation of the Auditor General is agreed to and the 
recommendation will be implemented. 



Performance Audit Division reports issued within the last 24 months

Future Performance Audit Division reports

Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections—Rehabilitation and Re-entry Programs

Arizona Sports and Tourism Authority

Maricopa County Special Health Care District

07-12 Department of Environmental
Quality—Vehicle Emissions
Inspection Programs

07-13 Arizona Supreme Court,
Administrative Office of the
Courts—Juvenile Treatment
Programs

08-01 Electric Competition
08-02 Arizona’s Universities—

Technology Transfer Programs
08-03 Arizona’s Universities—Capital

Project Financing
08-04 Arizona’s Universities—

Information Technology Security
08-05 Arizona Biomedical Research

Commission
08-06 Board of Podiatry Examiners

07-01 Arizona Board of Fingerprinting
07-02 Arizona Department of Racing

and Arizona Racing Commission
07-03 Arizona Department of

Transportation—Highway
Maintenance

07-04 Arizona Department of
Transportation—Sunset Factors

07-05 Arizona Structural Pest Control
Commission

07-06 Arizona School Facilities Board
07-07 Board of Homeopathic Medical

Examiners
07-08 Arizona State Land Department
07-09 Commission for Postsecondary

Education
07-10 Department of Economic

Security—Division of Child
Support Enforcement

07-11 Arizona Supreme Court,
Administrative Office of the
Courts—Juvenile Detention
Centers
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