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The Licensing Bureau determines whether an i l is eligible to purchase a firearm, regu-
lates security guards and private investigators, and issues permits for individuals to carry con-
cealed weapons in Arizona. 
 
Our Conclusion: The Legislature should consider transferring the firearms clearance func-
tion to the FBI. However, if that function is not transferred, DPS needs to improve it to ensure
that only eligible individuals can buy guns. DPS also needs to improve practices related to regu-
lating security guards and private investigators. The report also presents information on the
State’s concealed weapon permit program. 

Arizona has chosen to check all gun pur-
chases. It is estimated that this service will 
cost the State about $650,000 in fiscal year 
2001. 

 

Under federal law, before a firearms dealer
can sell a gun to any person, the person must
undergo a criminal background check. These
checks can be done by either the states or the
FBI. In many states, the FBI does all or part of
the checks. 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Under this program, a resident can obtain a per-
mit from DPS to carry a concealed weapon. DPS
also audits firearm instructors and investigates
complaints and violations. 
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 To Obtain More Information 

� A copy of the full report can be obtained by
calling (602) 553-0333 or by visiting our Web
site at: 

 
www.auditorgen.state.az.us 

 
� The contact person for this report is Dot

Reinhard. 

Firearms Clearance—$650,000 
Savings if FBI Conducts 
Background Checks 

24 states—FBI checks 
all gun purchases 

11 states—state 
checks handguns, FBI 

checks long guns 
and pawned guns 

15 states—state checks
all gun purchases 

Reasons persons may not pur-
chase guns: 
 
� Indicted for or convicted of 

a felony; 

� Fugitive from justice; 

� Convicted of domestic vio-
lence; 

� Illegal drug use; 

� Subject to court restraining 
order; 

� Illegal alien 

Information on the 
Concealed Weapon 
Permit Program 

aaa Permit Requirements: 
(There are about 61,000 permit
holders.) 
� At least 21 years old 

� Arizona resident or U.S. 
citizen 

� No indictment or felony 
convictions 

� Pass firearms safety and 
use training 

� No mental illness 

� Not unlawfully present in 
the U.S. 
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applications are complete. The efficiencies of a
mail-in process could: 
 
� Potentially eliminate the need for five addi-

tional FTE requested by DPS. 
� Save applicants’ time and travel costs. 
 
 
DPS should: 
 

����    Change to a mail-in process for security
guard and private investigator employees. 

 

 

� Unlike the FBI, DPS usually did not begin its
l the next day or later. 
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FBI data shows a 30-day research period would 
 of all gun buyers. 
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h more quickly. 

fits over the

� Fees typically range from $5 to $15. 
� A $5 fee would recover 98% of DPS’ costs. 
 
The Legislature should: 
 

����    Consider transferring background checks to 
the FBI. 

����    If DPS continues with background checks, 
provide DPS with authority to collect a fee to 
cover its costs. 

 

 
Higher-risk individuals—
background requires more
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� FBI data shows perso

search are 20 times mo
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� For October 2000, our r
than one-third of these
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offenses such as: 

 
� Sexual assault; 
� Child abuse 
� Arson 
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Firearms Clearance—DPS Should 
Ensure That Only Qualified 
Individuals Buy Guns 

If DPS continues this program, changes are
needed. Under the current process, DPS has only
three business days to provide background
checks. 
 
� About 91% of all checks result in immediate

approval or denial. 
� About 8% of all checks require further re-

search. This often occurs when a person was
arrested, but there is no record of a convic-
tion. 

Results of Initial Firearm Background Check

tigators and 
rds—Application 
efficient 

Security Guards—DPS  
Could Improve Regulation

DPS certifies security guards in the belief that
unlicensed persons are a potential threat to pub-
lic safety. However, applicants can receive a
provisional certificate before they are either 
 
� Trained or 
� Have a background check 
 
In addition, unlike other states, DPS does not: 
 
� Conduct additional criminal background

checks during the three-year certificate pe-
riod. 

� Require ongoing training of security guards.
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FBI—It may make sense for a state to do the
background checks if it has: 
 

� More restrictive gun laws than the Brady Act; 
� Access to information not available to the FBI. 
 

Neither of these reasons appear to be important
factors in Arizona, although DPS is hoping for 
future access to additional records (such as men-
tal health records) that would not be available to
the FBI. 
 

DPS could charge fee—If DPS continues to do 
background checks it should charge a fee. While
the FBI checks are free, most states charge fees: 
 

� 20 of 26 states doing checks charge fees. 

 

If DPS does not complete its research in three
days, the gun dealer may sell the person the fire-
arm. In calendar year 2000, DPS could not com-
plete its research within the time limit for over
5,000 cases. 

Year Ended December 31, 2000 

Immediate 
denial
 (3,194)

3%

Immediate 
approval 
(112,200)

88%

Delayed 
(10,095)

8%

Pending 
(1,391)

1%
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an inefficient licensing process. Instead
g applications to be mailed in, DPS re-
licants to apply in person. DPS staff
roximately 15 to 20 minutes with each
00 applicants reviewing their applica-
mpleteness. 

ld accept applications by mail and
licants responsible for seeing that their

DPS should: 
 

����    Seek legislative authority to require appli-
cants to receive training before receiving pro-
visional certificates. 

����    Conduct state criminal background checks
before issuing provisional certificates. 

����    At least annually, conduct additional state
background checks of security guards. 
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If DPS does not complete its research in three
days, the gun dealer may sell the person the fire-
arm. In calendar year 2000, DPS could not com-
plete its research within the time limit for over

� Robbery 
� Aggravated assault 
� Conspiracy to commit murder 

 
Research inadequate—Doing additional re-
search on gun buyers has been a low priority for
DPS. 
 
� Unlike other states, until recently DPS had no

staff specifically assigned to do research; 
� DPS’ policy requires only one attempt to ob-

tain additional information. 
 

Firearms Clearance—DPS Should
Ensure That Only Qualified 
Individuals Buy Guns 

If DPS continues this program, changes are
needed. Under the current process, DPS has only
three business days to provide background
checks. 
 
� About 91% of all checks result in immediate

approval or denial. 
� About 8% of all checks require further re-

search. This often occurs when a person was
arrested, but there is no record of a convic-
tion. 

Results of Initial Firearm Background Check
Year Ended December 31, 2000 

Immediate 
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Pending 
(1,391)
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Security Guards—Application 
Process Is Inefficient 

DPS uses an inefficient licensing process. Instead
of allowing applications to be mailed in, DPS re-
quires applicants to apply in person. DPS staff
spend approximately 15 to 20 minutes with each
of the 12,000 applicants reviewing their applica-

Security Guards—DPS  
Could Improve Regulation

 
DPS should: 
 

����    Seek legislative authority to require appli-
cants to receive training before receiving pro-
visional certificates. 

����    Conduct state criminal background checks
before issuing provisional certificates. 
Page 3

 
DPS should accept applications by mail and
make applicants responsible for seeing that their

����    At least annually, conduct additional state
background checks of security guards. 
 
FBI data shows a 30-day research period would 
affect only 2% of all gun buyers. 
 

 
DPS should: 
 

����    Seek legislative authority delaying gun pur-
chases up to 30 days. 

����    Continue to allocate staff specifically for do-
ing research. 

����    Begin research more quickly. 
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Higher-risk individuals—Those persons whose 
background requires more research have a high
risk of being ineligible. 
 
� FBI data shows persons requiring more re-

search are 20 times more likely to be ineligi-
ble. 

� For October 2000, our review found that more
than one-third of these persons had been ar-
rested or charged with serious disqualifying
offenses such as: 

 
� Sexual assault; 
� Child abuse 
� Arson 

 
Private Investigators and 

DPS certifies security guards in the belief that
unlicensed persons are a potential threat to pub-
lic safety. However, applicants can receive a
provisional certificate before they are either 
 
� Trained or 
� Have a background check 
 
In addition, unlike other states, DPS does not: 
 
� Conduct additional criminal background

checks during the three-year certificate pe-
riod. 

� Require ongoing training of security guards.
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The Licensing Bureau determines whether an individual is eligible to purchase a firearm, regu-
lates security guards and private investigators, and issues permits for individuals to carry con-
cealed weapons in Arizona. 
 
Our Conclusion: The Legislature should consider transferring the firearms clearance func-
tion to the FBI. However, if that function is not transferred, DPS needs to improve it to ensure
that only eligible individuals can buy guns. DPS also needs to improve practices related to regu-
lating security guards and private investigators. The report also presents information on the
State’s concealed weapon permit program. 

Arizona has chosen to check all gun pur-
chases. It is estimated that this service will 
cost the State about $650,000 in fiscal year 
2001. 

 

Under federal law, before a firearms dealer
can sell a gun to any person, the person must
undergo a criminal background check. These
checks can be done by either the states or the
FBI. In many states, the FBI does all or part of
the checks. 
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 To Obtain More Information 

� A copy of the full report can be obtained by
calling (602) 553-0333 or by visiting our Web
site at: 

 
www.auditorgen.state.az.us 

 
� The contact person for this report is Dot

Reinhard. 

Firearms Clearance—$650,000 
Savings if FBI Conducts 
Background Checks 

24 states—FBI checks 

11 states—state 
checks handguns, FBI 

checks long guns 

Reasons persons may not pur-
chase guns: 
 
� Indicted for or convicted of 

a felony; 

� Fugitive from justice; 

� Convicted of domestic vio-
lence; 

Information on the 
Concealed Weapon 

convictions 

� Pass firearms safety and 
use training 

� No mental illness 

� Not unlawfully present in 
the U.S. 
 

Under this program, a resident can obtain a per-
mit from DPS to carry a concealed weapon. DPS
also audits firearm instructors and investigates
complaints and violations. 

 
Permit Program 

aaa Permit Requirements: 
(There are about 61,000 permit
holders.) 
� At least 21 years old 

� Arizona resident or U.S. 
citizen 

� No indictment or felony 
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all gun purchases 

� Illegal drug use; 

� Subject to court restraining 
order; 

� Illegal alien 
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